[Boatanchors] Scammer using WS9T's Call

Charlie Hugg k5mbx at suddenlink.net
Tue Mar 1 08:55:11 EST 2016

Scammer using WS9T's Call. 

Watch out for a Scammer using WS9T's call. I put out a want ad for a Yaesu
DMU-2000 and had a replay from WS9T. He wanted PayPal payment to
ws9tdave at gmail.com. Turns out the real WS9T did not have a DMU-2000. This
was a scam that I caught just in time. Warning. Be very careful. If the
person's address does not check out with the one on QRZ, and his phone #
does not checkout with the white page listed # for him at that address, I
see a red flag. Also, I Google his call sign. Sometimes that turns up prior
scams. Then I always insist on talking with him on the phone to see if he
really knows about the equipment he is selling.

Also, using PayPal offers some protection. But this person had created a
fake PayPal account using ws9t call in the e-mail.

Anyway, I have been lucky so far. Have caught a couple of attempted scams
that would have cost me a lot. Always, always talk to the seller before
sending any money!

Good luck, Charlie Hugg, K5MBX


More information about the Boatanchors mailing list