[VoiceOps] Odd Routing to Iowa

Mike Hammett voiceops at ics-il.net
Tue Dec 31 14:20:31 EST 2019

Yes, I did conflate Goldfield Telecom with Goldfield Telephone in the original post. 


The site with the busted SSL also seems to have been hijacked. The first several times I tried getting to it, it redirected me to a bunch of BS. 

I did find this site: http://www.goldfieldaccess-ia.com/ 

Mike Hammett 
Intelligent Computing Solutions 

Midwest Internet Exchange 

----- Original Message -----

From: "John Levine" <johnl at taugh.com> 
To: voiceops at voiceops.org 
Cc: voiceops at ics-il.net 
Sent: Tuesday, December 31, 2019 1:16:38 PM 
Subject: Re: [VoiceOps] Odd Routing to Iowa 

In article <1464181553.3249.1577818986090.JavaMail.mhammett at ThunderFuck> you write: 
>The entity I'm calling is based out of Goldfield, so in this particular case, it isn't malicious. I'm not going to deny 
>that there could be other malicious uses of that exchange. 

Adding to the confusion, Goldfield Telecom sells and installs telco equipment. 

Their local phone company is an apparently unrelated entity called 
Goldfield Telephone, with a web site at www.goldfieldaccess.net with 
an expired SSL certificate. 

It's a tiny single switch RLEC. If they have a conference bridge, 
that screams traffic pumping. 

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://puck.nether.net/pipermail/voiceops/attachments/20191231/acba83d5/attachment.htm>

More information about the VoiceOps mailing list